Commemorating the 175th anniversary of the Treaty of Waitangi with a special stamp

23 January 2015

6 February 2015 marks the 175th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi, and to commemorate this momentous occasion in New Zealand history, New Zealand Post is issuing a special commemorative stamp.

Designed by renowned Maori artist Rangi Kipa, Te Atiawa, Taranaki Tuturu and Roy McDougall, the stamp combines the old with the new. The central design is inspired by a coin, the Waitangi Crown from 1935. The two figures are Ngapuhi chief Tamati Waka Nene and the first governor of New Zealand, William Hobson. Surrounding the figures is a contemporary Maori design incorporating Unahi (fish scale) and Kiri Kiore (rat tail). The fish scale design references the value of the abundant sea life that formed a staple part of the  diet sustaining the many Maori coastal communities and the Kiri kiore design is a visual metaphor that relates the beauty of the Kiore pelt to that of a finely woven cloak which had great value in Maori society.

“As it is New Zealand’s founding document, we wanted to create a commemorative stamp issue that commemorates this significant milestone in our nationhood,” said Simon Allison, head of stamps and coins at New Zealand Post, “and we’ve worked closely with Rangi Kipa and Toi Maori on bringing this stamp issue together.”

The issue consists of a miniature sheet and miniature sheet first day cover.

This issue is available for purchase from 4 February 2015 at all New Zealand PostShops and REAL Aotearoa stores in Wellington and Auckland. Pre-orders are being taken now through the Whanganui Collectables and Solutions Centre or online at

For more information:

Libby Greatbatch

Copywriting and Direct Marketing Specialist

Stamps and Coins

New Zealand Post

Tel: +64 4 496 4916